Watauga County Library Summer Reading Kick Off – June 8, 2018

This is the last week of school in Watauga County. Please mark your calendars for Watauga Library Youth Services: Summer Reading 2018 program kick off, ice cream social, Friday, June 8, at 2 pm.

Music brings people together; throughout history and around the world, music has been a special part of people’s lives, and it continues to play a fundamental role in celebrations, self-expression, communication, connection, and daily life. Whether you’re a fan of classical, jazz, oldies, country, or peace and quiet, this summer’s manual has something for you! Through books, games, musical experiences, and STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and math) activities, participants will interact with music and sound in a wide variety of ways. Learn about famous musicians, try your hand at making an original instrument, find out about the science behind the music you love, think about the music that nature is making every day, and rock your way all the way around the world with hands-on activities for children and families. Lace up your dancing shoes, plug in your microphone, and get ready for a swingin’ summer as you and your patrons celebrate the fact that libraries rock!

Summer 2018 Schedule

Tie Dye Day * Bring an item to dye

Monday, June 11 at 1 pm

Family Science Night

Thursday, June 14 from 4 to 6pm * Light refreshments provided

Amazing Al Motivational Magic Show

Tuesday, June 19 at 1 pm

Awesome Alphabet Activities

Friday & Saturday, June 8 & 9 at 11:30 am

Awesome Alphabet Activities

Friday & Saturday, June 15 & 16 at 11:30 am

Game Show Mania

Wednesday, June 20 at 2 pm

Awesome Alphabet Activities

Friday & Saturday, June 22 & 23 at 11:30 am

Hands On Museum * Boomwhackers * Can You Hear me Now?

Thursday, June 21 at 10:30 am

Please Sign Up

NC Museum of Natural History

Presents Sounds and Animals with Hissing Cockroaches

Wednesday, June 27 at 4 pm

Please Sign Up

NC Museum of Natural History

Sounds and Animals

Wednesday, June 27 at 1 pm

Awesome Alphabet Activities

Friday & Saturday, June 29 & 30 at 11:30 am

Beginning Coding Club

Tuesday, July 10 at 3 pm

Bean Can Guitars and Music with Jeff Robbins

Wednesday, July 11 * Music at 11 am

Wednesday, July 11 at 12 * Bean Can Guitar Craft * Please Sign Up

Bean Can Guitar Craft at 3 pm

Family Music with Ms Laura

Tuesday, July 17 at 11 am

Didgerdoo Down Under * Educational, motivational and super fun

Australian music for kids and families

Wednesday, July 18 at 1 pm

Family Bird Scouts

July 19 at 3:30 pm

Schiele Museum * Gem Mining * Please Sign Up

Tuesday, July 24 at 1 pm, 2 pm, & 3 pm

Schiele Museum * Gem Mining

Tuesday, July 24 at 10 am

Family Escape Room * Please Sign Up

Friday, July 27 and Saturday , July 28

Family Bird Scouts

Thursday, August 2 at 3:30 pm

EcoExplore

Tuesday, August 14 at 1 pm

 

For more information, visit the library website.